George Masso

Pieces of Eight

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For this excellent but obscure LP, trombonist George Masso arranged five selections for a seven-piece band that also includes the underrated trumpeter Glenn Zottola, Al Klink on tenor, guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli, pianist Derek Smith, bassist Bob Haggart and drummer Bobby Rosengarden. In addition to three standards (including a hard-swinging "Broadway" and a beautiful rendition of "It's So Peaceful in the Country"), Masso and his group perform Cole Porter's little-known "Down in the Depths of the 90th Floor" and the leader's "That's the Way It Goes." While those mainstream performances are fine, it is the three Masso-Pizzarelli trombone-guitar duets ("Do Nothing Till You Hear from Me," "Solitude" and "Nobody Else But Me") that make this album particularly notable.