Giorgio Moroder / Philip Oakey

Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This record was a collaboration between Philip Oakey, the big-voiced lead singer of the techno-pop band the Human League, and Giorgio Moroder, the Italian-born father of disco who spent the '80s writing synth-based pop and film music. It is a testimony to Moroder's fame as a composer that he was able to earn equal billing with Oakey for a record he co-wrote and produced, but for which he supplied no more than "occasional synthesizers" as a musician. The music is not substantially different from the standard fare from the Human League or, for that matter, almost any other synth-based Europop band in the '80s. The clear standout is "Together in Electric Dreams," which was originally written for the 1984 movie Electric Dreams, and features a killer hook and competent harmonies from Joe Esposito and Elizabeth Daily. The rest of the record consists of more or less forgettable synth pop, though the songs "Brand New Love (Take a Chance)" and the opening "Why Must the Show Go On" do contain a few nice melodies. Still, Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder will not be remembered among the best work of either artist's career.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:10 Spotify
2 01:00 Spotify
3 03:46 Spotify
4 04:10 Spotify
5 03:14 Spotify
04:28 Spotify
7 03:52 Spotify
8 03:52 Spotify
9 04:18 Spotify
10 06:26 Spotify
11 05:09 Spotify
12 00:50 Spotify
13 05:43 Spotify
14 05:21 Spotify
15 06:13 Spotify
16 04:59 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick