The Velvet Underground

Peel Slowly and See

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Does this five-CD box set feature an abundance of essential material? Certainly. It has all four of the studio albums released by the Lou Reed-led lineup, and a wealth of previously unreleased goodies. Is it an essential purchase? That depends on your level of fanaticism. Most serious Velvet fans have all four of the core studio albums already (although the third, self-titled LP is presented in its muffled, so-called "closet" mix), and will be most interested in the previously unavailable recordings, which do hold considerable fascination. The entire first disc is devoted to a drummer-less 1965 rehearsal tape in John Cale's loft, with radically different, almost folky run-throughs of most of the important songs from their classic debut, as well as a song that only made it onto Nico's first LP ("Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams"), and one which makes its first appearance anywhere (the Dylanesque "Prominent Men"). Other big bonuses include no less than seven outtakes from Loaded and other songs re-done by Reed on his early solo albums. And there are sundry other unreleased live and studio items, highlighted by a scorching live 1967 "Guess I'm Falling in Love" and the 1969 demo "Countess From Hong Kong." There are also highlights from VU and Another View, longer versions of Loaded's "Sweet Jane" and "New Age," and an 80-page booklet. The thing is, though, that virtually everyone who's interested in this material has already bought the four studio albums, sometimes several times over. A separate release of the two discs or so of truly new material would have been welcomed by the many fans who aren't interested in paying for a five-CD box of stuff when they already have well over half of it.

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Velvet Underground 02:12 SpotifyAmazon
2 The Velvet Underground 02:52 SpotifyAmazon
3 The Velvet Underground 02:48 SpotifyAmazon
4 The Velvet Underground 02:17 SpotifyAmazon
5 The Velvet Underground 02:46 SpotifyAmazon
6 The Velvet Underground 04:10
7 The Velvet Underground 06:30
8 The Velvet Underground 02:45 SpotifyAmazon
9 The Velvet Underground 08:17 SpotifyAmazon
10 The Velvet Underground 04:54 SpotifyAmazon
11 The Velvet Underground 02:02 SpotifyAmazon
12 The Velvet Underground 04:36 SpotifyAmazon
13 The Velvet Underground 17:27 SpotifyAmazon
14 The Velvet Underground 02:49 SpotifyAmazon
15 The Velvet Underground 02:30 SpotifyAmazon
16 The Velvet Underground 04:40
blue highlight denotes track pick