Heavy D & the Boyz

Peaceful Journey

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Heavy D. maintained his high visibility in both the R&B and rap markets with his third album, Peaceful Journey. The title says a lot about Heavy's outlook -- he was never an inflammatory, confrontational rapper, and generally sought to entertain rather than challenge. While most of this melodic, very R&B-ish album (which includes his remake of the Gamble & Huff classic "Now That We've Found Love") is fun and escapist in nature, the self-proclaimed Overweight Lover shows himself to be a noteworthy and effective social commentator on the title song, "Letter to the Future" (which urges a teenage criminal to change his ways) and "Sister Sister" -- a salute to Black women clearly written in response to misogyny in rap. Whether being socio-political or simply aiming to entertain, Heavy still makes it clear that he has a lot of technique.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:16 SpotifyAmazon
2 4:15 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:51 SpotifyAmazon
4 4:39 SpotifyAmazon
5 5:53 SpotifyAmazon
6 6:05 SpotifyAmazon
7 4:02 SpotifyAmazon
8 4:40 SpotifyAmazon
9 4:51 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:49 SpotifyAmazon
11 4:20 SpotifyAmazon
feat: Daddy Freddy
4:20 SpotifyAmazon
13 4:11 SpotifyAmazon
14 6:01
blue highlight denotes track pick