Charles Mingus

Passions of a Man: The Complete Atlantic Recordings 1956-1961

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Passions of a Man: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (1956-1961) presents an interesting problem. There's little arguing that the music on Passions of a Man is seminal, ranking among his very best recordings. The question is whether the six-disc set is indispensable, considering that it is low on unreleased material and boasts one full interview disc. All of Mingus' Atlantic recordings between 1956 and 1961 are included in session order, with alternate takes of "E's Flat Ah's Flat Too," "My Jelly Roll Soul," "Tensions," and "Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting" being added to disc three. The interview is interesting, yet most listeners will be content to hear it only once, so it simply adds time to the set. Still, the cost is justified -- Passions of a Man is beautifully produced, sporting sparkling remastered sound, new liner notes as well as the original album liner notes, a complete Atlantic discography, and rare photos. For fans who have yet to purchase copies of The Clown, Mingus at Antibes, or Oh Yeah, it's an essential purchase, but those who already own those discs might find too much repetition and not enough bonuses to make it worthwhile.

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 6:42 SpotifyAmazon
2 6:56 SpotifyAmazon
3 6:32 SpotifyAmazon
4 8:03 SpotifyAmazon
5 5:04 SpotifyAmazon
6 5:47 SpotifyAmazon
7 6:54 SpotifyAmazon
8 11:27 SpotifyAmazon
9 5:19 SpotifyAmazon
10 6:54 SpotifyAmazon

Track Listing - Disc 5

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 9:45 SpotifyAmazon
2 7:01 SpotifyAmazon
3 7:59 SpotifyAmazon
4 9:48 SpotifyAmazon
5 7:31 SpotifyAmazon
6 5:46 SpotifyAmazon
7 4:59 SpotifyAmazon
8 4:46 SpotifyAmazon
9 4:55 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:38 SpotifyAmazon

Track Listing - Disc 6

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 01:16:23 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick