Parts of the Process

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Parts of the Process reflects on five albums and seven years for the London trip-hop act Morcheeba. This stunning 18-track set isn't chronologically arranged, but all the hits and staples are here. Morcheeba loyalists may be slightly disappointed by the exclusion of "Who Can You Trust?" but overall, Parts of the Process captures the beauty of Morcheeba. Big Calm seems to be the major album represented with "The Sea," "Over and Over," "Let Me See," and the song for which this album is named, "Parts of the Process." Other amazing tracks from the band's first release, Who Can You Trust? -- "Tape Loop" and the brooding chill of "Trigger Hippie" -- make this album more complete. But other select cuts are equal in style and still appeal. Cuts from the less popular Charango album add a bit of flair to Morcheeba's sophisticated catalog, especially "What New York Couples Fight About." Even the stormy narrative "Rome Wasn't Built in a Day," from Fragments of Freedom, is chalked in. Those who found Morcheeba's 2001 Back to Mine collection crucial to the band's body of work shouldn't distress; that album doesn't really fit with the direction of this collection. Instead, the trio treats listeners to two brand-new tracks. Big Daddy Kane joins Morcheeba for the funkadelic, hip-hop groove "What's Your Name," while "Can't Stand It" is the band's attempt at chamber pop. While Morcheeba isn't one of the more exclusive acts of British electronic music, they've assessed their power as artists. Parts of the Process is well-suited for those unfamiliar with the band, while still tailored for those faithful followers, too.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 5:49 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:50 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:43 SpotifyAmazon
4 4:38 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:14 SpotifyAmazon
6 4:24 SpotifyAmazon
7 4:21 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:28 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:55
10 5:34 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:35 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:21 SpotifyAmazon
feat: Kurt Wagner
14 4:07 SpotifyAmazon
15 5:19 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:31 SpotifyAmazon
17 6:42 SpotifyAmazon
18 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick