• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Ozma Review

by Ned Raggett

With Black in on bass and the band relocated to San Francisco, the Melvins started, in a subtle way, exploring and developing their already-trademark sound further. The genre-dipping and out-of-nowhere efforts of later years were still some distance off, to be sure, but moments like the vocal/drum-only part on "Oven" and the needle-thin feedback treatment punctuating "Revulsion/We Reach" (along with occasional chimes) show more chances already being taken. Osbourne's tribute to Ozzy reaches new heights throughout -- opening track "Vile" in particular blends that and the running Gene Simmons fascination into a twisted monster, insistent, unnerving, and threatening all at once. "Green Honey" is another great, one of the quicker songs (at least comparatively speaking) going off as a slightly echo-shrouded Osbourne fires off a few quick rambles. Crover once again is the band's not secret weapon, as the clattering start of "Agonizer" and the subtle but spot-on tempo shifts on "Claude" make clear. Black's bass playing is steady-as-it-goes enough not to get in the way of anything, and she and Crover make enough bedrock thump for Osbourne to let loose with both his pipes and his guitar. Whether it's the creepily calm start of "Let God Be Your Gardener," plucking rather than bulldozing forward for once, or the grinding do-not-pass-go attack of "Raise a Paw," Ozma is out for blood and gets it. Killer song titles this time out include "Ever Since My Accident" and "Cranky Messiah." The random what-the-hell moment is right at the end, though -- "Candy-O," a cover of the Cars song that shouldn't work but actually does the business. Also fun -- consider the lead-guitar melody of "Love Thing" and how it oddly resembles Pearl Jam's breakthrough hit "Alive" from a few years later.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Melvins 03:47 Amazon
2 Melvins 01:28 Amazon
3 Melvins 02:46
4 Melvins 01:52 Amazon
5 Melvins 02:04 Amazon
6 Melvins 02:48 Amazon
7 Melvins 01:13 Amazon
8 Melvins 01:40 Amazon
9 Melvins 01:11 Amazon
10 Melvins 01:17 Amazon
11 Melvins 01:30 Amazon
12 Melvins 06:21 Amazon
13 Melvins 02:07 Amazon
14 Melvins 01:25 Amazon
15 Melvins 01:15 Amazon
16 Melvins 00:58 Amazon
17 Melvins 01:27
18 Melvins 06:15
19 Melvins 02:49
20 Melvins 03:54
21 Melvins 01:31
22 Melvins 01:51
23 Melvins 02:45
24 Melvins 02:32
25 Melvins 00:50
26 Melvins 00:57
27 Melvins 03:06
28 Melvins 00:54
29 Melvins 01:44
30 Melvins 00:48
31 Melvins 00:49
32 Melvins 02:51
33 Melvins 04:38
blue highlight denotes track pick