Original Sin: The Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This 18-track INXS anthology is more of a sampler than a "greatest-hits" package. Original Sin: The Collection includes three songs each from the Australian pop outfit's first six albums: INXS, Underneath the Colours, Shabooh Shoobah, The Swing, Listen Like Thieves, and Kick. While the material is strong, the absence of key singles like "What You Need," "Need You Tonight," "Never Tear Us Apart," "New Sensation," and "Golden Playpen" keep this overview firmly in the "fans only" camp. Listeners looking for a more populist collection should pick up Universal International's excellent Years 1979-1997 or Rhino's Shine Like It Does: The Anthology (1979-1997).

blue highlight denotes track pick