Tom King

One More Time, Vol. 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Sticking pretty much with the same formula as their first album, Tom King & the Royal Chicagoans deftly dance through an appealing musical agenda of standards plus one original. There are some deviations from the first outing. First, the group has been expanded from a quintet to a sextet with the addition of guitarist Bill Klewitz. Then, on four cuts, the group is joined by two guests, Art Davis and Tom Garling. This time around, group co-founder Harry Goldson sticks with the clarinet instead of splitting time with the tenor sax. Most tracks are straightforward renditions with the give and take between Goldson's clarinet and the vibes of Jim Cooper sharing the load with the piano of Steve Sandner, summoning images of Benny Goodman's early groups and the fruitful recorded collaborations between Terry Gibbs and Buddy DeFranco. Added rhythmic fullness is provided by guitarist Klewitz, especially noticeable on "Dancing on the Ceiling" and "Love Is Here to Stay." He also gets significant solo space on "My Silent Love." Like the earlier album, the tempo rarely exceeds medium speed. Things get a bit excitable on "My Blue Heaven," owing to the presence of Davis and Garling. There's a tip of the musical hat to New Orleans jazz with "Tin Roof Blues" and "The Lonesome Road," again with Davis and Garling joining in. But for the most part, the playing is middle-of-the-road mainstream jazz, tastefully performed and suitable for dancing or just sitting back and enjoying, or both. Recommended.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:28
2 3:24
3 4:01
4 3:54
5 3:51
6 4:41
7 4:53
8 4:44
9 3:56
10 4:03
11 5:02
13 4:07
14 3:39
15 3:37
16 3:20
17 4:55
blue highlight denotes track pick