Time UK

One More Time

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Just why these were not bigger contenders the moment they burst upon the scene has always puzzled music fans. Featuring former Jam drummer Rick Buckler, former Sniff 'n' the Tears bassist Nick South, former Tom Robinson Band guitarist Danny Kustow (who left Time UK early on to return to TRB), and led by former Masterswitch vocalist and songwriter extraordinaire Jimmy Edwards, Time UK had all it took to be massive -- except a proper hit. In fact, the band never even released an album! The three singles that they did release during their short existence were brilliant slabs of mod-tinged pop/rock, catchy as a cold and tightly produced. Their debut single, "The Cabaret," was an aggressive blend of the Jam, a touch of Armoury Show, and a pinch of TRB. The second and third singles, "Playground of Privilege" and "You Won't Stop," respectively, turned down the aggression and added a soulful Motown beat to the mix. The B-sides of each of the singles were a bit darker than the A-sides, but were impressive stabs at stretching their musical muscles. When Time UK split, Buckler and Edwards formed a new outfit called Sharp with Buckler's former Jam mate Bruce Foxton. Once again, another great single sunk without a trace. And that's all they wrote -- until now. All three Time UK singles, the Sharp single, and unreleased tracks by both bands have been gathered together by Dizzy and the Detour Records gang, showcasing 13 great pop songs. That's really what it's all about, right? The songs.

blue highlight denotes track pick