Various Artists

One Hit Wonders: Novelty Experience

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A amusing collection of 26 novelty songs from a vast array of artists and labels that made a showing on the pop charts. The hardest part of compilations like this has to be getting all the licensing rights from the different companies. This album contains not just the expected, traditional novelties but also tunes by television and club personalities -- Eddie Lawrence's "The Old Philosopher," Jim Backus & Friend's "Delicious," Bill Cosby's "Little Ole Man (Uptight, Everything's Alright)," and Tiny Tim's immortal "Tip Toe Through the Tulips." There are also some totally zany numbers, including Harlow Wilcox & the Oakies' "Groovy Grubworm" and "The Blob" by (who else) the Five Blobs.

blue highlight denotes track pick