Mick Farren & the Deviants

On Your Knees, Earthlings!!!

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On Your Knees, Earthlings!!! is a goldmine of recordings made by sci-fi garage rock guru Mick Farren and his band, the Deviants, between 1967 and 2001. The retrospective begins with the eerie intro "People's Suite" ("We are the people who creep in the night, we are the people who hide from the light"), and then proceeds to lay waste to human civilization with an onslaught of psychedelic guitar. "You've Got to Hold On" combines a folky harmonica with screeching guitar and vocals that are half Johnny Rotten and half Love on a psychotic day. "Observe the Ravens" is a twisted and insane organ jam, like the Doors falling to pieces, and "All in the Picture" revs like a drag race. On 1968's "Last Man," Mick Farren spits with a seething fury backed by an evil ambience that could be a premonition of Bauhaus and goth. That's not all. The retrospective includes cranked-up covers of Dylan ("It's Alright Ma, I'm Only Bleeding"), Frank Zappa ("Trouble Coming Every Day"), and the Rolling Stones ("Play with Fire"). Citizens of the world, bow down.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 0:37
feat: The Deviants
3 3:18
4 4:26
5 4:29
6 2:01
7 4:18
8 5:41
9 1:42
feat: The Deviants
11 3:21
12 3:53
13 5:58
14 0:20
15 3:08
16 5:21
17 6:11
blue highlight denotes track pick