Run On


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Run On's debut EP On/Off shows off a raw version of the group's sonic template: Sue Garner's alternately sweet and tough vocals come to the front over angular, buzzing guitar lines, blasts of organ and complex percussion. Marimbas enliven the instrumental "Switch On" and a distorted harmonica solo gives the art-punky "Into the Attic" a twist. The aptly-named "Pretty Note" lets Garner's languid vocals preside over softly noisy guitars, while "Water" features a tougher take on the group's sound. Finally, "Beat Out" mixes intricate percussion and droning vocals from Rick Brown with chiming guitars for a hypnotic effect. On/Off traces Run On's development as a band playing around with blending pop and avant leanings; though not every idea here is a great success, the textures, arrangements and songwriting are thoughtful and promising.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:25 Amazon
2 03:35 Amazon
3 04:16 Amazon
4 01:54 Amazon
5 04:29 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick