Various Artists

Old School Basic [Sugar Hill]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

An old-school sampling of rap-jams originally released by Sugar Hill Records featuring the Sugar Hill Gang on their everlasting "Rappers Delight." Kevie Kev does the erotic (but tasteful according to today's standards) "All Night Long (Waterbed)" and the Funky Four Plus One light it up on "That's the Joint." Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five deliver two heavyweights: "Freedom," an adaptation of a tune originally waxed by Jackson, MS, funk band Freedom, and their immortal "The Message."