Simon & Garfunkel

Old Friends

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Collected Works was a triple-disc box set that included all of the duo's albums, but no rarities. For average fans -- even fairly dedicated ones -- that set contained most everything they would need, even if the sound quality was a little below average. Old Friends is a three-disc box set that was designed to replace The Collected Works, but it fails to achieve its goals despite its improved remastered sound. Part of the reason is the content itself -- all five albums plus the rarities on this set could have fit on three discs, offering a real complete recorded studio works, but the compilers decided to truncate the albums and toss on a handful of rarities. The result certainly isn't bad -- after all, it features all of the hits, most of the major album tracks, the 1975 reunion "My Little Town," and a couple of good rarities like "Blues Run the Game" -- but it isn't all it could have been. If you already own The Collected Works, Old Friends serves little purpose unless you're a collector or audiophile, and if you're a neophyte, you're better off obtaining the original albums, not this well-intentioned and enjoyable but ultimately unsuccessful compilation.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:45 SpotifyAmazon
2 2:21 SpotifyAmazon
3 2:37 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:10 SpotifyAmazon
5 1:53
6 2:25 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:03 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:17 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:23 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:30 SpotifyAmazon
11 2:29 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:46
13 2:28
14 3:43 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:17 SpotifyAmazon
16 2:49 SpotifyAmazon
17 3:36
18 2:19 SpotifyAmazon
19 2:13 SpotifyAmazon
20 1:49 SpotifyAmazon
21 1:46 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick