Of Beauty and Rage

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Timothy Monger

After the more radio-friendly approach of 2012's Release the Panic, Nashville-based Christian metal act Red return to form on their epic, deeply orchestral fifth album, Of Beauty and Rage. Slimmed down to the core trio of singer Michael Barnes, guitarist Anthony Armstrong, and bassist Randy Armstrong, Red reunited with former collaborator Rob Graves, who also produced their first three albums. Technically ambitious and musically complex, Of Beauty and Rage finds Red building on the orchestrated sounds of their earlier releases with a seemingly rejuvenated passion. Mixing heavy metalcore elements with rich classical themes, they're at their best when strong melodies and power collide on tracks like "Shadow and Soul" and "Darkest Part." Visceral and engaging, this is Red doing what they do best.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 RED 01:11 Amazon
2 RED 04:18 Amazon
3 RED 05:44 Amazon
4 RED 04:02 Amazon
5 RED 03:28 Amazon
6 RED 03:53 Amazon
7 RED 05:26 Amazon
8 RED 00:55 Amazon
9 RED 04:49 Amazon
10 RED 05:22 Amazon
11 RED 04:33 Amazon
12 RED 03:51 Amazon
13 RED 04:10 Amazon
14 RED 04:45 Amazon
15 RED 03:58 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick