Various Artists

Now That's What I Call the 00s [2010]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

As reliable as ever, the Now series closes the noughties with a compilation aiming to reflect the decade's chart music over 60 tracks. Featuring an impressive 51 number ones, Now That's What I Call the 00s includes everything from female-led electro (Lady Gaga, Madonna) to retro-soul (Amy Winehouse, Duffy) to anthemic indie (Kaiser Chiefs, Razorlight). And in a decade dominated by reality TV, it's no surprise to see the likes of Will Young and Girls Aloud appear, although there's no room for American Idol Kelly Clarkson, original Popstars Hear'Say, or its biggest success story, Leona Lewis. From the late-noughties first disc, P!nk's feisty "So What," Rihanna's long-running chart topper "Umbrella," and Lily Allen's atmospheric "The Fear" are the standouts, alongside the Fray's angst-filled "How to Save a Life" and Katy Perry's suggestive "I Kissed a Girl." Disc two, which covers the mid-'00s, features colossal hits from Gnarls Barkley, James Blunt, Pussycat Dolls, and Tony Christie's unlikely career renaissance. But it's the Killers' glorious "Mr Brightside," Shakira's sensual "Hips Don't Lie," and Nelly Furtado's inventive "Maneater" that provide the highlights. The final disc features the boy band genre's last hurrahs (Blue, McFly, Busted) a few one-hit wonders (3 of a Kind, Room 5) and several of the commercial dance anthems that ruled the charts in the early noughties (Shapeshifters, Fragma), with Spiller's Posh Spice-defeating "Groovejet," Liberty X's seductive "Just a Little," and Kylie's iconic "Can't Get You Out of My Head" the stand-out tracks. There are undoubtedly a few glaring omissions, with some of the decade's biggest sellers notable by their absence, (Beyoncé, Eminem, Scissor Sisters) But overall, Now That's What I Call the 00s is a fairly comprehensive retrospective which successfully represents an exciting and eclectic ten years of chart hits.

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
2 4:15
3 3:50
4 3:51
5 3:31
6 3:52
7 3:04
8 3:40
9 3:28
10 3:30
11 3:54
12 3:28
13 2:34
14 2:57
15 2:39
16 4:10
17 3:21
18 3:26
19 3:47
20 3:32
blue highlight denotes track pick