Various Artists

Now That's What I Call Music! 40

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Andy Kellman

When the 40th volume of the Now series was released during November 2011, half of the 16 “Now proper” tracks were in the Top 20 of the Billboard Hot 100, while a handful of others had been there and were sliding off the chart. And then there was series staple Nickelback, the lone representative for macho rock, with the anthemic “When We Stand Together”; the band was possibly added for stylistic variety since the song had reached only number 62 and took four weeks to do so. A handful of other exceptions aside -- including Foster the People's atmospheric "Pumped Up Kicks" and Bad Meets Evil and Bruno Mars' overwrought “Lighters” -- the disc is stocked with major dance-pop singles, such as Maroon 5's “Moves Like Jagger,” Alexandra Stan's Rihanna knockoff/novelty “Mr. Saxobeat,” and David Guetta's "Without You" (featuring Usher). The four-track Now What’s Next portion is led by VV Brown, who scored a number 11 club hit in 2009. A deluxe two-disc edition was also released; that second disc rounded up 16 of the biggest pop hits from the past several years, including “I Kissed a Girl,” “I Gotta Feeling,” “Dynamite,” and “Tik Tok.”

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Maroon 5 03:20 Amazon
2 Britney Spears 03:28 Amazon
3 David Guetta 03:26 Amazon
4 Cobra Starship 03:31 Amazon
5 Alexandra Stan 03:12 Amazon
6 Dev 03:45 Amazon
7 Foster the People 03:55 Amazon
8 Rihanna 03:58 Amazon
9 Bad Meets Evil 05:02 Amazon
10 Jason Derulo 03:07 Amazon
11 Lady Gaga 04:05 Amazon
12 Kelly Clarkson 03:49 Amazon
13 Nickelback 03:07 Amazon
14 The Script 04:28 Amazon
15 Lady A 03:34 Amazon
16 Demi Lovato 03:51 Amazon
17 Trevor Hall 03:30 Amazon
18 Neon Hitch 03:43 Amazon
19 Lil Playy 03:23 Amazon
20 V.V. Brown 03:13 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick