Now That's What I Call Music! 30

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Now That's What I Call Music! 30 Review

by Andy Kellman

The lineup of artists on Vol. 30, covering the biggest hits from the tail end of 2008 and beginning of 2009 -- along with the occasional ringer, like Miranda Cosgrove's teen pop single "About You Now," which just barely scraped the Top 50 of the Billboard Hot 100 -- looks like the Now series' version of self-parody. The gang's all here: Nickelback ("Gotta Be Somebody"), Britney Spears ("Womanizer"), Christina Aguilera ("Keeps Gettin' Better"), and P!nk ("Sober"), all of whom have appeared on roughly a third (or more) of the Now discs. And Keith Urban is here, of course, with his ninth appearance since Now, Vol. 12, and it's the sixth time he has closed out a volume. That said, a fair amount of the inclusions -- such as Ne-Yo's "Miss Independent," Taylor Swift's "Love Story," Rihanna's "Rehab," and "Keeps Gettin' Better" -- will likely remain among the artists' most enduring hits. While several tracks are, naturally, more likely to become flashes in the pan (Lady GaGa and Katy Perry come to mind), they are, after all, a major driving force behind the series, part of what makes it a revisionist-proof reflection of popular music.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Lady Gaga 03:59 Amazon
2 Britney Spears 03:42 Amazon
3 Christina Aguilera 03:00 Amazon
4 Kevin Rudolf 03:50 Amazon
5 Kanye West 03:28 Amazon
6 Ne-Yo 03:49 Amazon
7 John Legend 03:52 Amazon
8 Rihanna 04:53 Amazon
9 The Pussycat Dolls 03:37 Amazon
10 P!nk 04:09 Amazon
11 David Archuleta 03:27 Amazon
12 Miranda Cosgrove 03:10 Amazon
13 The All-American Rejects 03:31 Amazon
14 David Cook 03:47 Amazon
15 Saving Abel 03:48 Amazon
16 Nickelback 04:10 Amazon
17 Katy Perry 03:56 Amazon
18 Jason Mraz 03:31 Amazon
19 Taylor Swift 03:53 Amazon
20 Keith Urban 03:51 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick