Now That's What I Call Club Hits

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Now That's What I Call Club Hits Review

by Jason Thurston

The Now series generally is what it is, for better or for worse; as a collection of popular tunes with no illusion of pretense, it serves a purpose as a snapshot of the popular music of its time, offering radio listeners their favorite songs for a reasonable price. However, Now That's What I Call Club Hits is a bit of a different beast -- while it contains practically every major jam of 2009, there's more of an adventurous feel, as it collects some of the best remixes of these familiar tracks. For those not averse to pulsating dance beats, this could be a bit of an odd treat, as many of the reinventions improve upon the originals. David Guetta works wonders with the Black Eyed Peas' "Boom Boom Pow," making the way overplayed novelty smash sound new (and even uncovering an interesting song amidst the nonsense). Guetta's power-piano-pop-tweaking original "When Love Takes Over" shines in its own right. Crookers' re-imagining of Kid Cudi's "Day 'n' Nite" was actually the twist that propelled the somewhat obscure Detroit MC's otherworldly single into breakthrough smash territory. Then there are some uninspired mixes, as with Chriss Ortega's drably blippy house backdrop to Kelly Clarkson's "My Life Would Suck Without You." However, as either a quick-fix party mix or an intro to club life, this installment of Now does its workmanlike job.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Black Eyed Peas 03:59
2 Sean Kingston 04:03
3 Flo Rida 03:21
4 Pitbull 02:57
5 David Guetta 03:04
6 Kid Cudi 02:42
7 Keri Hilson 04:27
8 Ciara 03:20
9 Jamie Foxx 04:14
10 Lady Gaga 03:27
11 Kelly Clarkson 03:36
12 P!nk 03:41
13 Katy Perry 03:39
14 The Killers 05:55
15 Kevin Rudolf 03:48
16 Bad Boy Bill 04:22 SpotifyAmazon
17 Empire of the Sun 04:33
18 Depeche Mode 05:00
19 Jackson's Gourmet 03:14
blue highlight denotes track pick