Nothing Changes

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On Nothing Changes, Superchunk's Jim Wilbur and Spent's John King joined forces with drummer Denis Saulnier for a one-off project full of classic mid-'90s indie rock riffs and choruses. The catchy indie rock style of Wilbur and King's other bands is immediately evident on the breezy and fuzzy "Death on the Cape," followed by the crunchy guitars and ecstatic chorus of "Nicotine," easily one of the catchiest tracks on the disc. That song is followed by the melodic "If You Want to Make This Right," on which Wilbur takes a calm approach to his lead vocal responsibilities. Wilbur had first attempted lead vocals on "Connecticut," from Superchunk's The First Part single. With Humidifier, he finally takes on a lead vocal mentality, taking command of his songs with an enchanting vocal style. "Nature Calls Albert Collect" is a frenzied ballad, while songs like "Actified" and "Not Afraid, Terrified" serve as modest extensions beyond Superchunk and Spent's musical drama. Wilbur and King purposefully seemed to save some of their inventive guitar arrangements for this disc, showing that, while any band may be the sum of its parts, these two could stretch out from their other bands to create some new and exciting compositions. The poignant and sentimental mood of "Slowburn" is followed by the disc's final track, the exciting and startling "When My Fingers Fall Off." The acoustic-based track features some of the album's most charming lyrics. The simple, rhythm-based instrumentation brings the disc to a surprisingly mellow close. Nothing Changes was recorded in August 1996 at Rare Book Room Studios in Brooklyn, and was released on New York's Link Records later that year.

blue highlight denotes track pick