Non Stop Hip Hop

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Non Stop Hip Hop Review

by Jason Birchmeier

There's definitely no shortage of hits on Non Stop Hip Hop, a compilation that looks back to mid-'80s hip-hop classics like Salt-N-Pepa's "Push It" and Rob Base and DJ EZ Rock's "It Takes Two" up to '90s party rap staples like Kris Kross' "Jump" and Tag Team's "Whoomp! There It Is." The emphasis seems to be on the lighter side of hip-hop with the inclusion of kid rappers like Another Bad Creation and Kris Kross and pop rappers like Will Smith and MC Hammer. The most provocative booty-style song here is probably "The Humpty Dance" and the closest this gets to gangsta territory is Warren G and Nate Dogg's "Regulate." This, of course, means that Non Stop Hip Hop aims its focus a bit at the younger crowd; casual hip-hop listeners should also find much to treasure. On the other hand, seasoned hip-hop listeners probably won't find much worth bothering with here. Granted, there are a lot of hits, but the "non stop" mix is to be scoffed at, and a lot of these songs, classics or not, are quite frankly played out.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Kris Kross 03:16 SpotifyAmazon
2 Naughty by Nature 04:31 SpotifyAmazon
3 Coolio 04:04 SpotifyAmazon
4 Run-D.M.C. 03:05 SpotifyAmazon
5 Digital Underground 04:42 SpotifyAmazon
6 Salt-N-Pepa 04:17 SpotifyAmazon
7 DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince 04:32 SpotifyAmazon
8 Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock 04:59 SpotifyAmazon
9 Nate Dogg / Warren G 04:10 SpotifyAmazon
10 MC Hammer 05:04 SpotifyAmazon
11 Tag Team 03:57 SpotifyAmazon
12 Tone-Loc 04:13 SpotifyAmazon
13 De La Soul 03:41 SpotifyAmazon
14 Arrested Development 04:09 SpotifyAmazon
15 Another Bad Creation 03:14 SpotifyAmazon
16 K7 03:54 SpotifyAmazon
17 Shaggy 04:06 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick