Various Artists


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Noize is one of the more interesting rock compilations to come out in some time. Where most of the bands are of the rap-metal variety, the varying quality of the songs makes for an uneven but undoubtedly heavy listen. Included are some popular hits (including Lincoln Park's vicious "One Step Closer" and Kid Rock's pounding "Bawitdaba") that are obvious choices, but are completely appropriate for the mood. On the other hand, they also include songs that are blatantly out of place, such as Sugar Ray's obnoxious "Every Morning" and Lucky Boys Confusion's boring "Bossman." But some of the lesser-known tracks by metal mainstays Static-X, Filter, and Orgy are the highlights of the album, blending heavy metal with industrial-like vintage Ministry. In fact, Ministry even shows up with the by-the-numbers speed metal yawner "Bad Blood," proving that their sound was far ahead of its time in the '80s but at the time of this compilation's release they were just trying to play catch up with their younger contemporaries. But in the end, the Deftones steal the show with the awesome "Digital Bath," proving that metal can actually use subtlety and restraint to achieve its heaviness. This is definitely a good place to start checking out the metal scene from 2000 to 2001, but most metal fans will probably have the full-length albums by the better bands on the compilation.

blue highlight denotes track pick