Silly Sisters

No More to the Dance

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first time June Tabor and Maddy Prior made a duo recording, it was released under their names and was entitled Silly Sisters. On this, their second album, Silly Sisters is the name of the group. Officially, it still consists of just Tabor and Prior, but most tracks also feature Breton guitarist Dan Ar Braz, Welsh harpist and keyboardist Huw Warren, and various other guests. As with their first album, the program is a winning mix of traditional and modern British folk music. An eerie and haunting arrangement of Andy Irvine's "Blood and Gold" is followed immediately by an almost African-sounding instrumental by Ar Braz; Tabor and Prior perform a brief a cappella "catch" by Henry Purcell entitled "Cakes and Ale"; and the traditional "Hedger and Ditcher" shows up in an arrangement that features both bagpipes and soprano saxophone. But interesting as things get instrumentally, Tabor and Prior's almost telepathic musicality and sharp, reedy voices are always at center stage, and the songs are always well served by the arrangements.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 1:59 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:29 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:49
4 1:55 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:04
3:18 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:41 SpotifyAmazon
8 6:13 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:48 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:51 SpotifyAmazon
11 8:20 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:31 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick