John Handy

New View

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Altoist John Handy's 1967 quintet included vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, the up and coming guitarist Pat Martino, bassist Albert Stinson and drummer Doug Sides. They really stretch out on three pieces (John Coltrane's "Naima" and an original), and New View is highlighted by Handy's emotional and episodic "Tears of Ole Miss (Anatomy of a Riot)," which clocks in at 23:45. The inside/outside music is quite picturesque, emotional, and ultimately logical. It is a pity that John Handy did not make more of an impact on the mainstream of jazz, but his three Columbia studio albums still sound fresh decades later.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 9:35
2 13:28 Spotify
3 31:09
blue highlight denotes track pick