New Mistake [Import CD Single]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

"New Mistake" was the final single pulled from the final Jellyfish album, which would be noteworthy enough for hardcore fans. What makes the Japanese version of the single necessary for any dedicated follower of the band is that it contains no less than nine B-sides, including five demos of Spilt Milk material, two non-LP songs ("Family Tree," "Ignorance Is Bliss") and two demos from Beatnik ("Watchin' the Rain," "Worthless Heart"), the first band Roger Manning and Andy Sturmer were in together. Since this material is fairly rare, it would automatically be noteworthy for collectors, but the fact that it's all good -- the non-LP cuts and early tunes rival some songs on Spilt Milk -- makes it worth seeking out by all the dedicated, even if the import price is quite steep. [Spilt Milk is also available in an import release.]