New Miserable Experience: Rarities Edition

Gin Blossoms

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

New Miserable Experience: Rarities Edition Review

by Andrew Leahey

Originally released in 2002 as part of the New Miserable Experience Deluxe Edition, this album collects material from the first five years of the Gin Blossoms’ career. Included are two full EPs, several outtakes, and a number of live songs taken from a 1993 concert in Solana Beach, CA. The Gin Blossoms originally released New Miserable Experience in 1992, right in the middle of Nirvana’s heyday, and their jangled pop songs made them sound like the clean-cut cousins to grunge’s grizzled, angsty stepchildren. This collection proves that the band always had teeth, however, and the presence of Doug Hopkins -- the talented guitarist and struggling alcoholic who wrote most of the band’s early hits -- reminds us that the Gin Blossoms weren’t as squeaky clean as their melodies suggested.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Gin Blossoms 03:04 Amazon
2 Gin Blossoms 03:26 Amazon
3 Gin Blossoms 03:33 Amazon
4 Gin Blossoms 02:30 Amazon
5 Gin Blossoms 03:05 Amazon
6 Gin Blossoms 02:20 Amazon
7 Gin Blossoms 01:14 Amazon
8 Gin Blossoms 02:41 Amazon
9 Gin Blossoms 02:34 Amazon
10 Gin Blossoms 04:13 Amazon
11 Gin Blossoms 02:43 Amazon
12 Gin Blossoms 03:22 Amazon
13 Gin Blossoms 04:44 Amazon
14 Gin Blossoms 03:52 Amazon
15 Gin Blossoms 04:08 Amazon
16 Gin Blossoms 03:55 Amazon
17 Gin Blossoms 02:49 Amazon
18 Gin Blossoms 03:07 Amazon
19 Gin Blossoms 04:20 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick