New Millennium Hip-Hop Party

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

New Millennium Hip-Hop Party Review

by Steve Huey

The sequel to Rhino's terrifically entertaining Millennium Hip-Hop Party compilation, New Millennium Hip-Hop Party features more of rap's best crossover pop hits, dipping a little later into the mid-'90s than its predecessor (cuts from Coolio, the Notorious B.I.G., and the Wu-Tang Clan, which demonstrate the infiltration of gangsta themes into a greater variety of mainstream hip-hop). But for the most part, the collection still covers pop-rap's late-'80s/early-'90s heyday, when some of the most creative sounds in hip-hop were also among its most playful and accessible. There are cuts from some of the first alternative rappers (De La Soul's "Me Myself & I," A Tribe Called Quest's "Scenario," Arrested Development's "People Everyday"), plus flat-out great singles like Naughty by Nature's "O.P.P.," Run-D.M.C.'s "You Be Illin'," DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince's "Summertime," Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock's "Joy and Pain," Mellow Man Ace's "Mentirosa," Tone Loc's "Wild Thing," Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five's "The Message," and even more. Like the first installment, New Millennium Hip-Hop Party is an excellent way to collect some of the most compulsively listenable hip-hop singles yet recorded.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Tone-Loc 04:24 Amazon
2 Run-D.M.C. 03:26 Amazon
3 Mellow Man Ace 04:17 Amazon
4 De La Soul 03:39 Amazon
5 Melle Mel & the Furious 5 / Duke Bootee / Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five / Grandmaster Flash 04:45 Amazon
6 MC Hammer 05:12 Amazon
7 Paperboy 04:01 Amazon
8 Naughty by Nature 04:30 Amazon
9 Rob Base / DJ E-Z Rock / E-Z Rock / Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock 03:43 Amazon
10 A Tribe Called Quest 04:11 Amazon
11 Wu-Tang Clan 04:58 Amazon
12 Coolio / L.V. 04:01 Amazon
13 The Notorious B.I.G. 05:00 Amazon
14 N2Deep 05:05 Amazon
15 Shaquille O'Neal 04:22 Amazon
16 Arrested Development 04:56 Amazon
17 DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince 04:28 Amazon
18 Snow 04:27 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick