Wade Legge

New Faces-New Sounds

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On February 27, 1953, while playing in Dizzy Gillespie's band, pianist Wade Legge was given the opportunity to record a session in Paris as the leader of the Wade Legge Trio with fellow Gillespie bandmembers Al Jones (drums) and Lou Hackney (bass). The resulting eight tracks were issued in France on the Vogue label, and in the U.S. (as New Faces-New Sounds on Blue Note). Surprisingly -- considering that Legge was 19 at the time, and that he would play not only with Gillespie, but also Sonny Rollins, Charles Mingus, and Donald Byrd -- it turned out to be the only recording issued under Legge's name. The cuts are strong if typical early-'50s bop, Legge showing the influence of Bud Powell, whose "Dance of the Infidels" he covers here. The only original is "Wade Legge's Blues," as the threesome also runs through the traditional "A Swedish Folk Song" and standards like "Dream a Little Dream of Me" and "These Foolish Things." All eight of the tracks are included on the two-CD compilation Dizzy Digs Paris, which otherwise features live and studio Dizzy Gillespie recordings also done in Paris in February 1953, in which all three members of the Wade Legge Trio play as part of a Gillespie-led sextet.

blue highlight denotes track pick