Grachan Moncur III

New Africa

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Also put out in Europe by the BYG and Actuel labels, this British LP is fairly adventurous, featuring the originals and trombone of Grachan Moncur III. He matches ideas with altoist Roscoe Mitchell, pianist Dave Burrell, bassist Alan Silva, drummer Andrew Cyrille and (on one of the four pieces) his former boss, tenor saxophonist Archie Shepp. Three of the selections are a bit reminiscent of the John Coltrane Quartet in their modality, but it is during the four movements of the continuous "New Africa" that Moncur can be heard at his dynamic best.