Various Artists

Neue Heimat 4

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Assembled primarily of singles released during 2003, the fourth volume of Ministry of Sound's Neue Heimat series is the most diverse yet, containing gritty oddball house, slick jazz-house, glossy techno-pop, silt-covered dub, and gnashing techno. The best of the bunch includes Rhythm & Sound's "Music Hit You," Phong Sui's "Wintermute," Henrik Schwarz's "Jon" (an ode of sorts to Jon Lucien), Kabuki's "After the Fire," Magnet's "Rising Sun," T. Raumschmiere's "Monstertruckdriver," and Decomposed Subsonic's "Wild Nights." This volume is also the most uneven thus far, with too much second- and third-tier material to sift through. Again, single edits are often favored over original album and 12" mixes for the sake of space.

blue highlight denotes track pick