Bob Dylan

Nashville Skyline/New Morning/John Wesley Harding

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This set combines three somewhat muted Bob Dylan albums, 1967’s John Wesley Harding, 1969’s Nashville Skyline, and 1970’s New Morning (wisely leaving out the mishmash of Self Portrait, which Dylan released in 1970, just prior to putting out New Morning), and placed together like this, the three albums actually inform and amend each other. The sparse, opaque poetry of John Wesley Harding flows easily into the sincere country clichés of Nashville Skyline, while New Morning feels like a more personal balance between the other two albums. Most Dylan fans will have long ago picked up all three of these, but for those who didn’t, here they are.

blue highlight denotes track pick