Various Artists

My Songs 2010

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Following the success of their two previous compilations, the My Songs series returns with its 2010 collection of feel-good songs, featuring everything from electro-pop (La Roux, Little Boots) to anthemic rock (Temper Trap, U2) to retro-soul (Duffy, Amy Winehouse). In addition to huge number ones from Black Eyed Peas, Lady Gaga, and Owl City, there are also lesser-known tracks from established artists such as Spandau Ballet's comeback single “Once More,” Stereophonics' glam rock-inspired “Innocent,” and Jamie Cullum's jaunty “I'm All Over It,” as well as classic MOR from Boyzone, Paul Weller, and Keane. Highlights from the first disc include Snow Patrol's gorgeous synth-led “Just Say Yes,” Pussycat Dolls' Gloria Gaynor-sampling “Hush Hush,” and James Morrison and Nelly Furtado's hit duet “Broken Strings,” while Rihanna's atmospheric “Russian Roulette,” Girls Aloud's '60s pastiche “The Promise,” and Tommy Sparks' disco-infected “She Got Me Dancing” provide the standouts for disc two. With the majority of its tracks released in the last 12 months, My Songs 2010 is more contemporary than its predecessors, and overall offers a more laid-back, chillout alternative to the Now That's What I Call Music series.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:48
2 4:27
3 4:04
4 4:04
5 3:42
7 3:30
8 3:40
9 4:11
11 3:10
12 3:36
13 4:37
14 3:27
15 4:06
16 3:36
17 4:02
18 3:49
19 3:23
20 3:45
blue highlight denotes track pick