The Quantum Enigma

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The sixth studio long-player from the Dutch symphonic metal outfit founded by multi-instrumentalist Mark Jensen, The Quantum Enigma offers up 13 new stadium-ready songs that skilfully balance the decibel-pushing, sonic crush of traditional European heavy metal, the opulence and refinement of classical music, and pure hook-filled pop. It's also the first Epica outing with bass player Rob Van Der Loo, who replaced Yves Huts shortly after the release of 2012's Requiem for the Indifferent. The Nuclear Blast-issued album was preceded by the singles "The Essence of Silence" and "Unchain Utopia."

blue highlight denotes track pick