• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

When After Forever decided to call it quits in 2009, fans wondered what would become of Floor Jansen (who had been their lead vocalist since 1997). Would she stick with goth metal, or would she move into a different area of metal? Would she get out of metal altogether, perhaps? As it turned out, the classically trained Dutch singer continued to embrace goth metal -- and this self-titled debut album by ReVamp, the band Jansen formed in 2009, isn't a radical departure from the songs that she performed during her 12 years with After Forever. ReVamp favor a slightly heavier approach than After Forever, but the basic recipe is pretty much the same: goth metal with an obvious classical influence (Jansen's classical training is impossible to miss) and very symphonic leanings. And the fact that the songs on this 2010 release are slightly heavier than After Forever's material works out well for Jansen, who still projects the darkly angelic quality that female goth metal singers are known for but also brings a certain amount of grit and toughness to her new band. In fact, one can even hear echoes of Pat Benatar in some of Jansen's performances. But while melodic tracks such as "Kill Me with Silence," "The Trial of Monsters," "Head Up High," and "Sweet Curse" are solid, it is unlikely that someone who wasn't already a fan of symphonically inclined goth metal will hear ReVamp's debut and suddenly become a convert. With ReVamp, Jansen is essentially preaching to the goth metal choir -- and in doing so, she has delivered an album that isn't groundbreaking but is pleasing if one enjoyed her work with After Forever.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 05:11 SpotifyAmazon
2 03:32 SpotifyAmazon
3 04:16 SpotifyAmazon
4 04:20 SpotifyAmazon
5 03:32 SpotifyAmazon
6 04:06 SpotifyAmazon
7 03:32 SpotifyAmazon
8 03:28 SpotifyAmazon
9 03:56 SpotifyAmazon
10 03:57 SpotifyAmazon
11 04:20 SpotifyAmazon
12 04:07 SpotifyAmazon
13 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
14 03:56
blue highlight denotes track pick