No Roots

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Not that it was a valid argument before, but with the release of No Roots you can't say "every Faithless album sounds the same" any longer. The 15 tracks are broken into two suites -- seven tracks each -- with a remix of "Mass Destruction" tacked onto the end. Both suites focus on love: love of people, love of humanity, love of peace. There's plenty of conviction, plenty of message, and very little for the club. Headphone-friendly, the album is the best showcase yet for Rollo and Sister Bliss (the musical half of Faithless), as the music (all in the key of C by the way) is stunning. Polished and purposeful, the tunes glide one to the next effortlessly, making this the most thought-out Faithless album yet. Mood is the thing and as a result only a few tracks -- "Mass Destruction," "I Want You More, Pt. 2," "Miss U Less, See U More" -- stand out on their own. But if the album isn't as powerful as one would have hoped, it's very personal. It's a good move since everybody knows the band can churn out a fluffy banger like "Insomnia" anytime they want; now the band's zealous fans finally make sense to an outsider. The album is for the fans, and maybe newcomers with patience and a penchant for wandering introspection. New vocalist LSK's cool reggae toasting mixes well with Maxi Jazz's conversational style, and "You ain't going to nirvana -- or far-vana" is the only lyric that'll cause cringes. More than a placeholder, No Roots is a satisfying album that's like the kid on the cover. It's lovable but requires attention and commitment.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 0:28
2 3:44 Spotify
3 2:49 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:11 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:10 SpotifyAmazon
6 2:45 SpotifyAmazon
7 4:02 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:41 SpotifyAmazon
9 5:23 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:47 SpotifyAmazon
11 4:27 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:19 SpotifyAmazon
13 6:58 SpotifyAmazon
14 4:31 SpotifyAmazon
15 6:03 SpotifyAmazon
16 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick