The Mothers of Invention / Frank Zappa

We're Only in It for the Money

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

From the beginning, Frank Zappa cultivated a role as voice of the freaks -- imaginative outsiders who didn't fit comfortably into any group. We're Only in It for the Money is the ultimate expression of that sensibility, a satirical masterpiece that simultaneously skewered the hippies and the straights as prisoners of the same narrow-minded, superficial phoniness. Zappa's barbs were vicious and perceptive, and not just humorously so: his seemingly paranoid vision of authoritarian violence against the counterculture was borne out two years later by the Kent State killings. Like Freak Out, We're Only in It for the Money essentially devotes its first half to satire, and its second half to presenting alternatives. Despite some specific references, the first-half suite is still wickedly funny, since its targets remain immediately recognizable. The second half shows where his sympathies lie, with character sketches of Zappa's real-life freak acquaintances, a carefree utopia in "Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance," and the strident, unironic protest "Mother People." Regardless of how dark the subject matter, there's a pervasively surreal, whimsical flavor to the music, sort of like Sgt. Pepper as a creepy nightmare. Some of the instruments and most of the vocals have been manipulated to produce odd textures and cartoonish voices; most songs are abbreviated, segue into others through edited snippets of music and dialogue, or are broken into fragments by more snippets, consistently interrupting the album's continuity. Compositionally, though, the music reveals itself as exceptionally strong, and Zappa's politics and satirical instinct have rarely been so focused and relevant, making We're Only in It for the Money quite probably his greatest achievement.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 01:25 Amazon
2 02:34 Amazon
3 02:22 Amazon
4 02:16 Amazon
5 00:48 Amazon
6 00:33 Amazon
7 01:21 Amazon
8 01:03 Amazon
9 03:24 Amazon
10 03:03 Amazon
11 00:26 Amazon
12 02:02 Amazon
13 02:01 Amazon
14 03:18 Amazon
15 01:09 Amazon
16 01:32 Amazon
17 00:58 Amazon
18 02:32 Amazon
19 06:24 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick