Skid Row

Revolutions Per Minute

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For many, the face of Skid Row will always be that of outspoken frontman Sebastian Bach. But since the late '90s, three original members of the band have been carrying on the Skid Row name without Bach and instead with Johnny Solinger manning the mic. 2006 saw the release of the second Solinger-era Skid Row release, Revolutions Per Minute, and the group's sound remains largely the same. In other words, you get the same angry-yet-melodic riff rockers that you long ago came to expect from the group, while Solinger's singing style isn't that far removed from Bach's. Longtime fans will be happy to learn that the producer of their hit 1989 self-titled debut is back again behind the boards, Michael Wagener (whose '80s metal résumé is extremely extensive and includes Accept, Dokken, Megadeth, Ozzy Osbourne, etc.). However, tracks such as "Disease" and "Another Dick in the System" seem to follow the tougher approach of their post-Skid Row releases, while the lyrics to "Shut Up Baby, I Love You" and "White Trash" are pure '80s metal cliché. Revolutions Per Minute is just what you'd expect from Skid Row -- for better or for worse.

blue highlight denotes track pick