Danny Elfman

Meet the Robinsons [An Original Walt Disney Records Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Walt Disney animated feature Meet the Robinsons, based on William Joyce's book A Day with Wilbur Robinson, about a 12-year-old boy who travels into the future, is not a musical per se, but as this soundtrack album shows, there is plenty of music in it. Danny Elfman composed the score, cues from which take up 29 of the disc's 53 minutes. That score is a typically eclectic Elfman effort, with some of his characteristically sly melodies, a lovely lullaby serving as "The Prologue," some generic adventure music, and some playful, jazzy interludes, notably "Pop Quiz and the Time Machine Montage." The eight songs that bookend the background music are also eclectic, including three tunes written and two performed by Rufus Wainwright, beginning with the Beatlesque "Another Believer," and including a good Rob Thomas number, "Little Wonders"; some neo-traditional jazz by Jamie Cullum, who covers the 1945 hit "Give Me the Simple Life"; and "Kids of the Future," a rewrite of Kim Wilde's 1982 pop/rock hit "Kids in America," performed by Jonas Brothers. The All-American Rejects (not the kind of band name you might expect to see on a Disney project) and They Might Be Giants also turn up. They help make this a more varied effort than that usually heard on a soundtrack for a children's movie.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:39
feat: Rob Thomas
3 03:05
feat: Jamie Cullum
5 02:35
feat: Jamie Cullum
02:04 Amazon
Meet the Robinsons, film score
7 01:24
8 01:16
9 01:56
10 02:47
11 01:01
12 01:37
13 03:45
14 04:13
15 04:57
16 06:00
17 02:00 Amazon
18 03:18
blue highlight denotes track pick