Musique Pour l'Odyssée

Art Zoyd

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Musique Pour l'Odyssée Review

by François Couture

Released almost three years after Art Zoyd's first LP, Symphonie Pour le Jour où Brûleront les Cités, Musique Pour l'Odyssée (Music for the Odyssey) presented a slightly different version of the band. The nucleus of Gérard Hourbette (violin), Thierry Zaboïtzeff (bass guitar, cello, vocals), and Jean-Pierre Soarez (trumpet) is joined by percussionist Daniel Denis (who would remain a core member of the band for two decades), oboist/bassoonist Michel Berckmans (of Univers Zero and Von Zamla), saxophonist Michel Thomas, and a second violinist, Franck Cardon. This lineup recorded an album much more cinematic than the first. The 17-minute epic "Musique Pour l'Odyssée" is very moody, going from climactic passages to near silence (something pushed even further on "Bruit, Silence -- Bruit, Repos"). Its slow development and ritualistic percussion accompanying prehistoric grunts gives a first example of the surrealistic soundtrack side of the band's music, which will become the center of its production in the 1990s (Faust, Haxan). "Trio 'Lettre d'Automne'" is a quiet string trio bringing the album to an end on a weaker note. Less impressive than its predecessor, Musique Pour l'Odyssée remains a very honest item in Art Zoyd's discography and the title track alone is worth listening to the album. This LP was reissued in 1999 on a two-CD set together with Symphonie Pour le Jour où Brûleront les Cités and Génération Sans Futur. In 2013, Sub Rosa released an edition of Musique Pour l'Odyssée with seven bonus tracks.

blue highlight denotes track pick