Jackie Gleason & His Orchestra

Music for Lovers Only/Music to Make You Misty

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A repackaging of Jackie Gleason's two most popular albums, Collectors Choice Music's Music for Lovers Only/Music to Make You Misty is an instrumental easy listening CD with a unabashed romantic mood. 1953's Music for Lovers Only was Gleason's most popular and sold over 500,000 copies. The disc includes instrumental versions of "My Funny Valentine," "I'm in the Mood for Love," and "I Only Have Eyes for You." 1957's Music to Make You Misty was released in the last year Gleason's albums were hits. The album includes "Prelude to a Kiss," "You Were Meant for Me," and "I'm Through With Love." Both have sweeping string arrangements and lush cinematic moods. Music for Lovers Only/Music to Make You Misty does not include all the tracks added to the original versions when expanded after their initial release. Eight songs were added to each album in the 1950s. This combined CD does contains the bulk of the original material, however. Fans of lounge music will find this CD not the silly, up-tempo album that they might prefer. Rather, it is a romantic collection of ballads. Reminder: This disc is different than Jack Lemmon's albums or Gleason's own And Awaaay We Go! because there are no vocals or comedy routines on this pure orchestral pop CD.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:05
2 3:22
3 2:50
4 2:42
5 3:30
6 3:23
7 3:20
8 3:17
9 3:11
10 3:19
11 3:17
12 2:53
13 3:07
14 3:07
15 3:25
16 3:08
17 3:16
18 2:34
19 2:14
20 2:28
blue highlight denotes track pick