Kenny Wheeler

Music for Large and Small Ensembles

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This two-disc set is a dazzling look at Kenny Wheeler's work as a composer. His breadth is stunning, from moody Oliver Nelson and Gil Evans-like expansiveness to compactly propulsive post-bop excursions. The first disc is taken up entirely with the eight-part "Sweet Time Suite."

Wheeler's scoring is bracing and emotive. Singer Norma Winstone is on hand for portions of it, offering a gloriously soaring counterpoint to the massed horn section. Wheeler's diverse background serves him well, as he's quite comfortable with both the traditional and the avant-garde (he worked in one of Anthony Braxton's important combos in the mid-'70s). For anyone unfamiliar with this stellar musician's work, this is is an excellent starting point, as is his first album as a leader, the remarkable GNU HIGH.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:22 Amazon
2 10:08 Amazon
3 9:28 Amazon
4 5:36 Amazon
5 9:18 Amazon
6 12:55 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 8:50 Amazon
2 8:32 Amazon
3 8:46 Amazon
4 4:04 Amazon
5 2:42 Amazon
6 2:23 Amazon
7 3:04 Amazon
8 5:44 Amazon
9 10:36 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick