Various Artists


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

MTV's AMP 2 is a collection of the best alterna-dance songs that have been featured on the television program MTV's AMP. What makes this collection so indispensable is that it's split equally between popular hits and hard-to-find mixes from notable DJ's and musicians. Such hard-to-find goodies that can be found here are "Release Yo' Delf" by Method Man (remixed by Prodigy), "Sexy Boy" by Air (remixed by Beck), as well as "Battleflag" by the underrated duo Pigeonhed (remixed and featuring the Lo-Fidelity Allstars). More familiar (but just as interesting) tracks include Fatboy Slim's "The Rockafeller Skank" and Propellerheads' "Bang On!," as well as other songs by today's top electro-dance stars (Goldie, Roni Size, Jungle Brothers, etc.). MTV's AMP 2 is a well-rounded collection, which is a godsend for dance fans who (understandably) didn't want to shell out the extra dough for all those different CD singles.

blue highlight denotes track pick