Mojca Erdmann / Andrea Marcon / La Cetra

Mozart's Garden

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

German soprano Mojca Erdmann made her debut at the 2006 Salzburg Festival in the title role of Zaide and has gone on to build an international career in diverse repertoire that includes Haydn, Weber, Mahler, Ravel, Strauss, Britten, Ligeti, Reimann, and Takemitsu. Her voice seems ideally suited to the music of her debut album, Mozart's Garden, a selection of arias of the Classical era by Mozart and some of his near contemporaries ranging from familiar names like Salieri, Paisiello, and J.C. Bach to the very obscure Ignaz Holzbauer. Erdmann brings secure technique, a warm, caressing tone that's well supported throughout her range, and plenty of personality to this varied selection of arias. She's entirely at home in lyrical pieces like "Ach, ich fühl's" and "Batti, batti, o bel Masetto," which she sings with limpid poise. Other arias that showcase this warmly melodic aspect of her voice and delivery include the lovely "Ruhe sanft, mein holdes Leben," from Zaide and "Ihr Rosenstunden," from Holzbauer's Günther von Schwarzburg. Erdmann's ability to project a fiery temperament and negotiate more florid arias is demonstrated in the ferocious "Tiger! Wetze nur die Klauen," from Zaide and "Die Klüfte sausen," from Holzbauer's opera, where her voice takes on a gleaming brightness. It's an attractive program that beautifully showcases her expressive range and her immensely appealing voice. The fact that it unearths some vocal treasures from off the beaten track adds to its value. Andrea Marcon leads La Cetra Barockorchestra Basel, a period instrument ensemble, in graceful, supple performances; the orchestra seems to breathe together in its natural, elegant phrasing. Deutsche Grammophon's sound is clean, clear, and present. Based on her auspicious beginnings, Erdmann is certainly an artist to watch out for.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Zaide, K. 344
1 4:47 Amazon
Les Danaïdes
2 2:37 Amazon
Idomeneo, re di Creta, K. 366
3 4:05 Amazon
4 3:58 Amazon
Zaide, K. 344
5 6:35 Amazon
Don Giovanni, K. 527
6 0:48 Amazon
7 3:46 Amazon
Nina, o sia la Pazza per Amore
8 7:06 Amazon
Le nozze di Figaro, K.492
9 1:22 Amazon
10 3:19 Amazon
Günther von Schwarzburg
11 3:55 Amazon
12 2:45 Amazon
Don Giovanni, K. 527
13 3:24 Amazon
Amadis de Gaule
14 4:52 Amazon
Die Zauberflöte, K. 620
15 4:27 Amazon
Les Danaïdes
16 1:36 Amazon
Idomeneo, re di Creta, K. 366
17 6:25 Amazon
Günther von Schwarzburg
18 4:44 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick