Henryk Szeryng

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3; Vivaldi: The Four Seasons

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3; Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Review

by Mike D. Brownell

Violinist Henryk Szeryng was an artist equally at home playing solo, in chamber ensembles, or in front of an orchestra and one of his many strengths was his ability to alter his sound to meet the occasion. Szeryng proves this yet again on this album featuring the Mozart K. 216 Concerto as well as Vivaldi's Four Seasons -- a work that may not immediately come to mind when thinking of Szeryng. Recorded in a live performance with the English Chamber Orchestra in 1972, the sound quality of the orchestra is a bit subpar and Szeryng (who also leads the orchestra) sounds quite distant. Nonetheless, his nuance and sensitivity in the Mozart can still be heard clearly. As for the Vivaldi, individual movements are likely to leave differing impressions on listeners. Throughout, Szeryng's approach is rather typical for him -- full, robust sound, and intense vibrato. Tempo selection is at times questionable, however, and the Presto of "Summer" is quite slow and does not offer sufficient contrast with the preceding Adagio. Still, fans of Szeryng will still find this remastered album a valued addition to their collection.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K. 216
1 Henryk Szeryng 10:27 Amazon
2 Henryk Szeryng 08:38 Amazon
3 Henryk Szeryng 07:08 Amazon
The Four Seasons (Il quattro stagione), concertos (4) for violin, strings & continuo ("Il cimento" Nos. 1-4) , Op. 8/1 - 4
4 Henryk Szeryng 03:39 Amazon
5 Henryk Szeryng 01:56 Amazon
6 Henryk Szeryng 04:28 Amazon
7 Henryk Szeryng 04:52 Amazon
8 Henryk Szeryng 01:50 Amazon
9 Henryk Szeryng 03:21 Amazon
10 Henryk Szeryng 05:14 Amazon
11 Henryk Szeryng 01:51 Amazon
12 Henryk Szeryng 03:56 Amazon
13 Henryk Szeryng 03:36 Amazon
14 Henryk Szeryng 02:12 Amazon
15 Henryk Szeryng 03:32 Amazon
16 Henryk Szeryng 00:24 Amazon
Double Violin Concerto, for 2 violins, strings & continuo in A minor ("L'estro armonico" No. 8), Op. 3/8, RV 522
17 Henryk Szeryng 04:14 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick