Adam Fischer / Danish National Chamber Orchestra

Mozart: Symphonies, Vol. 2 (1767-1768)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The booklet notes for this Danish National Chamber Orchestra release are striking in that they completely neglect the music under discussion, treating instead several completely different aspects of Mozart's career. This may be the result of cost-cutting connected with what is to be a complete cycle of Mozart symphonies from the forces involved, and the performances are certainly competent. What you get here are the symphonies usually numbered 6, 7, and 8, plus two unnumbered works, K .45a and K. 45b. The symphonies were composed in 1767 and 1768, when Mozart was ten or eleven years old. Unlike the orchestral works of Mozart's precocious early childhood, these are full-scale works between about 9 and 14 minutes long in total. The voice of the mature Mozart is here even if the technique is not; the works are original at every turn, and perhaps the best way to think of them is to take them as imperfect pieces that make very interesting mistakes. The straightforward style of the veteran Hungarian-born Mozart conductor Adam Fischer is just the ticket here; the music is clean and clear without the preciousness that mars so many performances of music of the child Mozart, and without attempts to make more of the music than is actually there. Denmark Radio's studio sound is no more than adequate.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Symphony in F major No. 6, KV 43
1 5:28
2 4:35
3 1:48
4 3:17
Symphony in D major No. 7, KV 45
5 2:29
6 1:47
7 3:08
8 2:38
Symphony in G major, KV 45A
9 5:04
10 4:27
11 2:28
Symphony in B flat major, KV 45B
12 2:06
13 2:46
14 2:38
15 2:26
Symphony in D major No. 8, KV 48
16 4:10
17 2:53
18 3:12
19 2:56
blue highlight denotes track pick