Mood Indigo: Capitol Sings Duke Ellington

Duke Ellington

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Mood Indigo: Capitol Sings Duke Ellington Review

by Stephen Cook

From Capitol's Fort Knox-level jazz vocal vaults comes this fine homage to the Duke. Culled mostly from '50s and early-'60s albums, Mood Indigo: Capitol Sings Duke Ellington features 20 stellar interpretations by the venerable likes of Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong, Nat "King" Cole, Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington, and Nancy Wilson; and that's not to overlook an impressive array of relatively unsung talent like June Christy, Helen Forrest, Lou Rawls, and Annie Ross. Featuring work from both Ellington and longtime songwriting partner Billy Strayhorn, the mix contains a fetching combo of both evergreens ("Solitude," "Don't Get Around Much Anymore") and rare booty ("I Didn't Know About You," "I Ain't Go Nothin' but the Blues"). Topping things off are the Ellington-worthy charts of such veteran arrangers as Billy May, Gerald Wilson, Pete Rugolo, Benny Carter, and Nelson Riddle. Yes, this tour of "Duke's Place" is definitely not to be missed.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Duke Ellington 05:06 Amazon
2 Nancy Wilson 02:21 Amazon
3 Sarah Vaughan 03:48 Amazon
4 Nat King Cole 03:20 Amazon
5 June Christy 02:53 Amazon
6 Annie Ross 04:45 Amazon
7 Lou Rawls 02:44 Amazon
8 Dinah Washington 03:04 Amazon
9 Dinah Shore 03:50 Amazon
10 Nat King Cole 03:11 Amazon
11 Hank Jones 02:56 Amazon
12 Harry James & His Orchestra 03:02 Amazon
13 Duke Ellington 05:32 Amazon
14 Peggy Lee 02:09 Amazon
15 Dinah Washington 02:16 Amazon
16 June Christy 02:44 Amazon
17 Nat King Cole 02:44 Amazon
18 Nancy Wilson 02:29 Amazon
19 The King Sisters 02:41 Amazon
20 Duke Ellington 10:18 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick