Roy Orbison

Monumental Hits [Collectables]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Collectables Records' Roy Orbison compilation Monumental Hits, issued at a discount price, compares favorably with other single-disc Orbison hits collections. As the title suggests, these are original Monument Records recordings licensed from Monument's corporate parent, Sony Music. Orbison recorded for the label between 1960 and 1965, and scored all his early major hits there. All of those Top 20 singles are included -- "Only the Lonely (Know How I Feel)," "Blue Angel," "Running Scared," "Crying," "Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)," "In Dreams," "Mean Woman Blues," "Pretty Paper," "It's Over," and "Oh, Pretty Woman" -- along with most of Orbison's Top 40 hits of the period. A few of those lesser hits are missing ("Falling," "Goodnight," and "[Say] You're My Girl"), and, oddly, the album concludes with eight B-sides of the hit singles, including the B-sides of the missing A-side hits. None of them are great lost songs. ("Love Hurts," a B-side, heard earlier in the collection, is, however.) As a hits collection, the album would have been better if it had been sequenced chronologically, if it had included such non-Monument Orbison favorites as "Ooby Dooby" and "You Got It," and if there were fewer obscurities. But the sound is good, all the big Monument hits are here, and the price is right.

blue highlight denotes track pick