Monty Python

Monty Python Sings

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Monty Python Sings is exactly what it sounds like: a parade of songs (many under a minute) written and performed by members of Monty Python's Flying Circus. The numbers should be instantly familiar to fans of their legendary sketch comedy series and theatrical features. Each member of the troupe is represented to some degree or another, including director/animator Terry Gilliam with the tiny tune "I've Got Two Legs" (:33), and several co-written by Graham Chapman (to whom the original 1989 issue of the compilation was dedicated). John Cleese, Terry Jones, and Michael Palin contributed to several compositions, but the lion's share were written/co-written by the most musically inclined member, Eric Idle. Neil Innes (the Bonzo Dog Band), with whom Idle collaborated on the Beatles spoof The Rutles, assisted with arranging and composed the music for "Knights of the Round Table." It's debatable whether those not already enamored by the Pythons' unique brand of humor would be won over by this recording. For the already converted, however, it represents an opportunity to have all of their best known songs in one place: Life of Brian's "Always Look on the Bright Side of Life" ("when you're chewing on life's gristle/don't grumble, give a whistle"), "Lumberjack Song" (I'm a lumberjack/and I'm O.K./I sleep all night/and I work all day"), and, of course, "Spam Song" ("lovely Spam/wonderful Spa-a-m"). For better or for worse, many of their most politically incorrect songs are also included: "Sit on My Face," "Penis Song (Not the Noel Coward Song)," "Never Be Rude to an Arab," and "I Like Chinese." Although packed to the brim with (lyrical) comedy, Monty Python Sings is strictly a musical recording and does not include any sketches, spoken word pieces, or narration.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:33 Amazon
2 00:45 Amazon
3 03:20 Amazon
4 00:41 Amazon
5 04:10 Amazon
6 00:52 Amazon
7 01:16 Amazon
8 02:01 Amazon
9 03:31 Amazon
10 03:38 Amazon
11 04:34 Amazon
12 01:00 Amazon
13 03:40 Amazon
14 02:06 Amazon
15 02:36 Amazon
16 00:52 Amazon
17 02:15 Amazon
18 01:06
19 01:33 Amazon
20 02:48 Amazon
21 01:28 Amazon
22 00:33 Amazon
23 02:45 Amazon
24 02:41 Amazon
25 00:32 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick