Monsters, Inc. (An Original Walt Disney Records Soundtrack)

Randy Newman

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Monsters, Inc. (An Original Walt Disney Records Soundtrack) Review

by Heather Phares

As with both of the Toy Story movies and A Bug's Life, the soundtrack to Disney/Pixar's Monsters, Inc. features a fun, whimsical score by Randy Newman. Bookending lively, big band-inspired pieces like the Monsters, Inc. theme are two versions of "If I Didn't Have You," one sung by Billy Crystal and John Goodman, who voice the film's main characters, Mike (the little green eyeball) and Sulley (the big, blue, vaguely Maurice Sendak-iancreature), and one sung by Newman. For all its charm, it can't help but sound a bit like a second-rate version of Toy Story's "You've Got a Friend in Me," but it's still a winning song. The rest of the score is charming and vaguely retro, particularly on the sprightly "Walk to Work" and "Sulley and Mike"; even spookily named pieces like "The Scare Floor" and "The Scream Extractor" sound more cute than creepy. While this album probably won't appeal to most kids, it's nice that Disney acknowledges the huge adult following that Pixar's films have by releasing this playful, detailed score.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Randy Newman feat: Billy Crystal / John Goodman 03:41 Amazon
Monsters, Inc., film score
2 Randy Newman 02:09 Amazon
3 Randy Newman 01:38 Amazon
4 Randy Newman 03:29 Amazon
5 Randy Newman 01:57 Amazon
6 Randy Newman 00:49 Amazon
7 Randy Newman 01:03 Amazon
8 Randy Newman 02:41
9 Randy Newman 01:09 Amazon
10 Randy Newman 06:23 Amazon
11 Randy Newman 01:03 Amazon
12 Randy Newman 02:22 Amazon
13 Randy Newman 00:52 Amazon
14 Randy Newman 01:41 Amazon
15 Randy Newman 02:19 Amazon
16 Randy Newman 02:19 Amazon
17 Randy Newman 02:12 Amazon
18 Randy Newman 01:10 Amazon
19 Randy Newman 02:17 Amazon
20 Randy Newman 02:22 Amazon
21 Randy Newman 05:08 Amazon
22 Randy Newman 03:14 Amazon
23 Randy Newman 03:34 Amazon
24 Randy Newman 01:20 Amazon
25 Randy Newman 03:38
blue highlight denotes track pick